Welcome to the Times Square Alliance Website

Accessibility Navigation:

Still from Send me to the 'Lectric Chair by Guy Maddin and Isabella Rossellini

Produced by: Metropolis Prize
December 17, 2009 7-8 PM

The Babelgum Metropolis Art Prize 2009 was an open call to artists working in any medium to submit videos of their work for a chance to win US$20,000 and get their video screened on giant screens in Times Square.


  • Clear Channel / CNN screen (47th Street and Broadway),
  • MTV screen (Eastside of Broadway between 44th and 45th St.)
  • NewsCorporation / Panasonic screen (Southside of 43rd St. between Broadway & 7th Avenue)

Winning art videos by: Jeorge Simas, Jason Eppink, Jacopo Ceccarelli, Kindergarten, Davide Pepe, Improv Everywhere, Sjors Vervoort, Hye Yeon Nam, Christopher Coleman, Peter Vadocz, Bruno Levy, Lucy Mclauchlan, and Guy Maddin & Isabella Rossellini.

Project Links

Times Square Arts Sponsors

rockefeller logo_web.jpg